SOFTWARE COMPARISON

AdaptlyPost vs Buffer

The useful comparison starts with your workload. Buffer may be sufficient for free; an AdaptlyPost lifetime tier can make sense when you need more capacity and its features fit.

Prices in USD

Choose tools to compare

Select two or three tools to compare prices, plans and features.

2 tools selected

Comparison table

AdaptlyPost vs Buffer: price, availability and purpose
CompareAdaptlyPostBuffer
Offer statusLiveSubscription alternative
Starting price$59 one-timeLicense Tier 1$60 per yearEssentials · 1 channel
What it doesSchedule social posts and connect an AI assistant through API or MCP. Budget for X publishing and AI generation as well as connected profiles, teammates and workspaces.Compare Buffer by the channels and collaboration you need. Free API and assistant access mean a paid plan is not automatically necessary for automation.
Included capabilities
  • API and MCP included
  • Bulk publishing workflow
  • Separate brand workspaces
  • API available on Free
  • MCP available on Free
  • Team plan offers approvals

Starting prices can cover different workloads. Compare the named tiers and allowances below before treating a price difference as a saving.

Which tool should you choose?

AdaptlyPost

Choose by the busiest month you need to publish, then check accounts, people and workspaces. Tier 1 can fit a solo publisher, but a separate teammate or several brands may require a higher tier even with few social accounts. Buy for the documented scheduling and assistant workflow; a social inbox, dedicated client sign-off and connected threads are not sufficiently established to base a purchase on.

Suitable for

A creator or team that wants an assistant to prepare posts while a person checks the content and publishing destination.

Consider another option if

Choose another workflow if dedicated client sign-off or confirmed connected-thread publishing is essential; those capabilities remain unresolved.

Buy nowRead the AdaptlyPost buying guide

Buffer

Check Free before spending money on scheduling or API access. Choose Essentials for a solo workflow needing a deeper queue or paid publishing features; choose Team when another person needs access or approval permissions. Compare a lifetime deal with the total cost for your actual channels and required actions, not Buffer’s one-channel starting price.

Suitable for

A buyer who values a free starting point or prefers a recurring plan that can change with their needs.

Consider another option if

Someone assuming the one-channel price covers an entire portfolio of profiles.

View Buffer plansRead the Buffer buying guide

Start with the work, not the discount

List the profiles, post formats and people involved in a normal publishing week. Mark the requirements that would stop your work if missing. A cheaper plan that forces a workaround for each campaign is not automatically better value.

Buffer’s free option changes the decision: included API and MCP access do not by themselves justify buying another tool.

Make the price comparison explicit

For five paid channels, Buffer Essentials costs $300 over one year. AdaptlyPost Tier 1 costs $59 once. The alternative cost minus lifetime cost is $241 for one year and $841 for three years, assuming unchanged prices and no extras. A positive amount means the subscription costs more; a negative amount means the lifetime purchase costs more.

This is a spending scenario, not a claim of identical features. It excludes taxes, credit top-ups, outside services and migration time. If a free plan covers your work, there is no subscription saving to claim.

Check the capability you cannot compromise on

AdaptlyPost’s API reference now describes connected replies, but its support article still excludes thread scheduling. Buffer describes threaded publishing. Confirm the exact AdaptlyPost workflow and its credit cost before choosing it for threads.

For collaboration, compare the actual roles and approval path. Do not treat a team-member allowance as proof that a required review step exists.

Choose for the next stage of your work

Favor the plan that handles your current routine with room for realistic growth. Avoid buying for hypothetical features or distant account counts. Keep an export and handover process in mind so a later move is manageable.

Our practical starting point: test the free option where it fits, then compare paid plans only against the capabilities you actually need.

Feature comparison

Compare documented coverage and the conditions attached to it. A higher feature count does not establish better quality or reliability.

IncludedLimitedPaid add-onNot includedNot confirmed

Features are grouped by documented coverage. “Not confirmed” means the evidence is incomplete, not that a feature is absent.

Social media scheduling: documented features and conditions
FEATURESFeature comparisonAdaptlyPostLifetime dealBufferSubscription alternative
Included in every compared tool4 features
Scheduled publishingPrepare posts for a later date and time.
Included

Scheduled posts; X uses two credits, or twenty with a clickable link.

Included

Free has a refillable ten-post queue per channel. Paid queues have a 5,000-post fair-use ceiling.

API accessConnect external software through a documented programming interface.
Included

No separate API subscription.

Included

Available on Free with shared request limits; full stable analytics and comment replies are not provided by the current API guide.

AI assistant / MCP accessConnect a compatible assistant to supported product actions.
Included

Connect a supported MCP assistant to prepare or schedule posts. The assistant service can charge separately.

Included

Also available on Free.

Performance analyticsRead supported account or post performance metrics.
Included

Metrics vary by connected platform.

Included

Advanced analytics on Essentials.

Where coverage differs3 features
Bulk schedulingLoad or schedule multiple posts in one workflow.
Included

Prepare multiple posts in one batch; review each destination, caption and publishing time before scheduling.

Limited

CSV upload on all plans: text and single-image posts only, not YouTube, videos or carousels. Free queue limits still apply.

AI writingGenerate or refine post text within the purchased product.
Limited

Two credits per caption.

Included

AI Assistant.

RSS publishingTurn updates from a feed into social content.
Included

Listed in current plan features.

Limited

Content feeds support selecting articles for posts; unattended RSS publishing needs an external integration such as Zapier.

Shared limitations and conditions1 feature
Approval workflowRequire review or approval before another person publishes.
Limited

Contributors prepare their own drafts; Editors or Admins publish. Dedicated client sign-off is not established.

Limited

Approval workflows and additional teammates require Team; Free and Essentials have one user.

Evidence still incomplete5 features
AI image generationCreate images within the purchased product, subject to credits.
Limited

Two credits per standard image; four per premium image.

Not confirmed

Support for this plan has not been confirmed.

Separate workspacesOrganize brands or clients in separate working areas.
Included

3 workspaces in Tier 1.

Not confirmed

Support for this plan has not been confirmed.

Recurring contentAutomatically reuse or repeat scheduled evergreen content.
Limited

The MCP create_post action supports daily, weekly, monthly and yearly recurrence. Automatic evergreen rotation is not established.

Not confirmed

Support for this plan has not been confirmed.

Social inboxHandle supported comments or messages in a shared interface.
Not confirmed

Current inbox scope not established.

Included

Community inbox; supported channels vary.

Connected thread schedulingSchedule a linked sequence of posts, not just one standalone post.
Not confirmed

API docs describe connected replies; the help article still excludes thread scheduling. Confirm the intended workflow before buying.

Included

Supported connected threads.

Check each product’s plan notes for tier limits and additional costs. Feature coverage is not a quality rating.

Plans, prices and allowances

Compare every recorded tier. Daily, monthly and one-time balances are separate; an unspecified allowance is not unlimited.

AdaptlyPost plans

PLAN DETAILS

Compare each plan’s price and allowance. Confirm any limit marked ‘Not specified’ before buying.

AdaptlyPost plans and limits · USD
Plan comparison5 plansTier 1License Tier 1Tier 2License Tier 2Tier 3License Tier 3Tier 4License Tier 4Tier 5License Tier 5
PriceUSD$59one-time$139one-time$329one-time$499one-time$799one-time
BillingOne-time paymentOne-time paymentOne-time paymentOne-time paymentOne-time payment
Connected accounts2550100250500
Users152050120
Workspaces31550150400
CreditsCheck plan notes for usage and renewal periods.2006001,4003,0005,000
Who this tier fitsA solo publisher working within 3 workspacesA writer and publisher who need separate access, or a brand setup that exceeds Tier 1Frequent X-link publishing or client work that exceeds Tier 2’s credits or account capacityAn agency whose busy month exceeds Tier 3’s account, team or credit allowanceA service that needs a branded client dashboard, or capacity beyond Tier 4
Keep in mindX links and AI share 200 monthly credits; ten clickable X links use 200 before generation.Thirty clickable X posts need 600 credits; generating thirty captions adds another 60.A 1,380-credit example leaves little room within 1,400 credits for revisions or extra posts.The higher allowance does not add a confirmed client approval portal or change each network’s restrictions.You handle client billing separately. Confirm that the included branding covers your intended service.
Plan notes
  • Monthly credits cover AI and X use; ordinary X posts cost two credits and clickable-link posts cost twenty.
  • AI captions and standard images cost two credits each; premium images cost four.
No additional notes recordedNo additional notes recordedNo additional notes recorded
  • White-label includes your domain, logo, brand and email sender; billing, support and referral links are hidden on that domain.
  • You handle client billing separately; this is not an automated client billing service.

Select the final tier on AppSumo. The product link opens the same listing for every tier.

Buffer plans

PLAN DETAILS

Compare each plan’s price and allowance. Confirm any limit marked ‘Not specified’ before buying.

Buffer plans and limits · USD
Plan comparison3 plansFor one operator needing a deeper queueEssentials · 1 channelFor a small solo calendarFreeFor contributors and approvalsTeam · 1 channel
PriceUSD$60per year$0per month$120per year
BillingBilled yearlyBilled monthlyBilled yearly
Connected accounts131
Users11Not specified
Queued posts per channel5,000posts / channel10posts / channel5,000posts / channel
API keys3keys1keys5keys
API requests per channel per 30 days3,000requests / channel / 30 days1,000requests / channel / 30 days10,000requests / channel / 30 days
Maximum API requests per 30 days30,000requests / 30 days3,000requests / 30 days100,000requests / 30 days
Shared API requests per 15 minutes450requests / 15 minutes150requests / 15 minutes1,500requests / 15 minutes
Shared API requests per 24 hours1,800requests / 24 hours600requests / 24 hours6,000requests / 24 hours
CSV posts per channel per upload100posts / upload10posts / upload100posts / upload
Content feeds50feeds3feeds50feeds
Who this tier fitsA solo workflow requiring paid publishing features or advanced analytics.Up to three channels with frequent queue refills and modest supported automation.Multiple people preparing and reviewing content with explicit channel permissions.
Keep in mindEvery connected channel adds to the bill; approvals still require Team.Queue depth and API calls are separate caps; only one user.Unlimited team members does not mean unlimited free channels or API requests.
Plan notes
  • Monthly equivalent: $5 per channel. The charge is $60 per channel for the billing period shown above.
  • Rate applies to the first ten channels; larger counts receive volume pricing.
  • API keys and MCP connections share limits; the per-channel 30-day allocation is capped account-wide.
  • CSV import supports text and single images, excludes YouTube; Free imports also depend on queue room.
  • The advertised unlimited queue has a 5,000-post-per-channel fair-use ceiling.
  • Ten queued posts per channel; slots refill after publishing.
  • API keys and MCP connections share limits; the per-channel 30-day allocation is capped account-wide.
  • CSV import supports text and single images, excludes YouTube; Free imports also depend on queue room.
  • Monthly equivalent: $10 per channel. The charge is $120 per channel for the billing period shown above.
  • Unlimited team members; approvals included.
  • API keys and MCP connections share limits; the per-channel 30-day allocation is capped account-wide.
  • CSV import supports text and single images, excludes YouTube; Free imports also depend on queue room.
  • The advertised unlimited queue has a 5,000-post-per-channel fair-use ceiling.

Select the final plan on Buffer’s website.

DO THE MATH

What could you save?

Compare the cash cost of named plans over your chosen period.

Add recurring extras
AdaptlyPost$59.00License Tier 1 over 36 months
Buffer$180.00Essentials · 1 channel · 1 paid channel
Potential cost difference $121.00less spent on the lifetime option

Different plans, different capabilities. This is a cost scenario, not a promise of equal features or future savings. AdaptlyPost: 25 accounts, 1 user. Buffer: 1 paid channel. Annual plans are charged for full years. Prices stay constant; taxes, usage overages, external services and migration work are excluded unless added above. A lifetime licence lasts under the vendor’s terms, not a guarantee that the business will operate forever.

Buffer’s Free plan includes API access and may be sufficient for a small workflow. The paid-channel scenario does not assume free channels can be combined with paid ones.

Credits, limits and extra costs

AdaptlyPost

  • Monthly credits belong to the account, not each workspace. The founder describes one-time or recurring allocations to team members; creating more workspaces does not multiply the allowance.
  • Thread support is unclear: the API documents connected replies, while a support article still excludes them. Confirm your exact workflow.
  • External assistants may have their own subscription costs.

How X and AI credits add up

The founder lists credit charges for AI generation and X publishing. Scheduling volume on other networks does not consume those credits, but generating the content can. A clickable-link X post costs 20 credits in total for publishing, not 20 plus the ordinary two-credit charge.

For standalone posts, estimate monthly credits as: (ordinary X posts × 2) + (clickable-link X posts × 20) + (AI caption actions × 2) + (standard AI images × 2) + (premium AI images × 4). Count generation actions rather than the number of final assets you keep. Extra generations can increase the budget.

One link post plus one generated caption and one premium image is 26 credits. Seven such sets use 182 credits; eight use 208. Compare those totals with Tier 1’s current 200 monthly credits. An allowance is not a promise of that many finished posts.

Documented action rates; arithmetic assumes standalone posts and no refunds or bonus credits.
ActionCreditsPlanning consequence
Ordinary X post2Publishing only: divide your monthly allowance by two.
X post with a preserved clickable link20Ten posts consume 200 credits before any AI generation.
AI caption action250 actions use 100 credits.
Standard AI image225 images use 50 credits.
Premium AI image425 images use 100 credits.
Publishing to a non-X network0 for publishingOptional AI generation still uses its own credits.
  • For API publishing, links are broken up by default. The documented keep-links option preserves a clickable X link at the higher rate. Pasting a URL alone is not proof that it will stay clickable.
  • The API also applies the higher link rate to an X first comment. The simple examples exclude comments, thread replies, failed attempts and retries because their full charging behavior has not been established.
  • A published credit rate does not demonstrate delivery reliability. Check the final post and destination link during actual testing.

Extra costs, top-ups and terms to confirm

The unresolved purchase cost is extra credits: in-app top-ups exist, but their pack prices, expiry and automatic-purchase behavior were not confirmed. If your campaign exceeds the included balance, get that quote before deciding a lower tier will be cheaper.

Add any paid assistant, automation service and separate engagement or reporting tool you still need. Compare that total with an alternative covering the same work over the same period. A scheduler with fewer accounts may still be the cheaper option if it already includes a feature you would otherwise buy separately.

Costs to investigate before paying; unknown prices are not assumed to be zero.
Possible extraWhat is establishedWhat it means for your decision
Extra creditsThe founder confirms purchases inside the app. Pack prices, expiry and automatic-purchase behavior were not confirmed.Get the actual pack quote before comparing a lower tier plus top-ups with a higher tier.
Rollover and reset timingThe listing says credits per month. Rollover and the exact reset day were not established.Do not fund a busy month with assumed leftover credits; confirm the cycle before scheduling a large campaign.
Workspace allocationCredits are allocated per account, with one-time or recurring transfers to team members described by the founder.Use a single tier allowance across your workload. More workspaces do not create extra included credits.
Outside AI or automationAPI/MCP access is included; an external service can have its own paid plan or usage bill.Keep external generation costs separate from AdaptlyPost credits. Included connectivity does not pay the outside provider.
Client operationsThe founder says you handle client billing for a white-label service.Budget for your chosen billing tools and staff time if needed; they are not included in the tier price.
Separate purchase termsAn in-app credit purchase is distinct from the AppSumo license.Do not assume the license refund window also refunds consumed credits or other separately purchased services.
  • Confirm seat counting, the monthly reset, rollover, top-up expiry and failed-post charges if the planned workload leaves little spare capacity. Upgrades depend on the deal remaining available, so a later upgrade is not guaranteed.

See all AdaptlyPost tier guidance

Buffer

  • Paid prices are per connected channel; the displayed annual bill is for one channel.
  • Free has three channels and a refillable ten-post queue per channel, not ten posts per month.
  • API/MCP share rate limits; stable full analytics and comment-reply automation are not established.

Compare the whole bill with a lifetime licence

For a portfolio of five channels within the first pricing band, annual Essentials cost is five times $60; Team is five times $120. If approvals are required, Essentials is not the correct saving comparison even when it has enough scheduling capacity. The lifetime alternative must also cover five profiles and the same collaboration job.

A fair break-even calculation divides the lifetime purchase price by the recurring cost you would actually avoid, after adding any lifetime-plan provider fees or add-ons. If Buffer Free already fits, there is no subscription bill to recover. If you might stop using the tool after a short campaign, the ability to cancel a recurring plan has value too.

Compare the whole bill with a lifetime licence
RequirementBuffer plan to compareWhat a lifetime alternative must match
Up to three channels with a short queueFreeA reason to spend beyond a working free workflow.
A deep queue managed by one personEssentialsSame profiles, post types and needed analytics.
Contributors and approval permissionsTeamEquivalent seats, permission controls and approvals.
Automated post creationFree or paid according to usageSupported actions and a sufficient request allowance.

See all Buffer tier guidance

How the tools fit common workflows

AdaptlyPost

Let an assistant prepare content without letting it publish

An assistant preparing posts could publish to the wrong account if it has publishing access. A request in the prompt to wait for approval is not a substitute for restricting that access.

  1. Create a workspace for the relevant brand and connect only its intended accounts.
  2. Give the drafting person or API key Contributor permissions. Have the assistant save a draft, then inspect the text, media and destination.
  3. An Editor or Admin reviews the finished version and schedules it. Keep the intended time in your planning process until approval.

Expected outcome: Contributor permissions apply to the dashboard, API and MCP. They allow preparation of the contributor’s own drafts while withholding scheduling and publishing.

Limitation: This is a draft-to-publisher handoff, not evidence of a dedicated client approval portal. Tier 1’s listed user limit is 1; a separate teammate needs sufficient team capacity.

Schedule Pinterest content without counting every board as an account

A business can organize one Pinterest profile into many boards. Treating each board as a separate paid account could lead you to buy far more capacity than you need.

  1. Count connected Pinterest accounts, then map each planned Pin to its board.
  2. Prepare the individual title, description, destination link and intended time before batching the work.
  3. Inspect a small batch before filling the calendar, especially when several Pins lead to different pages.

Expected outcome: The founder confirms that one Pinterest account uses one account slot regardless of its board count, and bulk Pins can each have their own board and publishing details.

Limitation: The account allowance is only one constraint. Verify the exact media format and batch workflow before moving a large campaign.

Buffer

Schedule a small weekly calendar without a subscription

A solo creator needs several posts ready ahead of time but does not need a large backlog or shared access.

  1. Connect the small set of channels you actually use.
  2. Prepare posts for each channel and fit them into the available queue.
  3. Refill the freed slots after publishing, checking the next week’s content.

Expected outcome: A modest publishing routine can stay on Free without pretending the queue is a monthly posting allowance.

Limitation: The channel and queue limits are separate. A long absence or additional client profile can make the same free routine unsuitable.

Review a colleague’s work before it reaches social accounts

A business wants a contributor to prepare content without giving every person unrestricted publishing authority.

  1. Choose Team for additional members and access levels.
  2. Assign the appropriate channel permissions.
  3. Have prepared content reviewed through the approval workflow before publication.

Expected outcome: Drafting and approval can remain separate responsibilities.

Limitation: Essentials still has one user. API access alone does not create a second user or an approval policy.

What buyers report

Buyer experiences can vary with the plan, product version and workflow.

AdaptlyPost

Assistant drafts across separate organizations

An October 27 AppSumo buyer describes preparing assistant drafts across several workspaces, but wants a planned draft date that does not schedule publication. The review is marked incentivized. If that handoff matters to your team, include it in your own evaluation rather than assuming a dated draft and a scheduled post are interchangeable.

A clear interface, with engagement work still elsewhere

Another October 27 buyer likes the layout and scheduling experience while waiting for a unified inbox. This review is also incentivized. The practical question is whether you need a publishing tool or a place to handle conversations; the current offer should not be treated as a complete replacement for both.

Buffer

A useful free calendar can still be too small

An independent user describes staying with Buffer’s free calendar but finding its three-channel limit restrictive. This is a workflow-fit report, not a broad satisfaction statistic.

AdaptlyPost vs Buffer: common questions

Which product costs less for my workload?

Choose the smallest tier that covers your actual usage in each product, then add any required membership, credits or outside subscriptions. A cheaper starting price is not a saving if it leaves essential work uncovered.

Can I buy every lifetime plan shown here?

Only offers marked available have a current recorded purchase option. Sold-out plans are historical context. The merchant confirms the final price, availability and terms when you buy.

AdaptlyPost: Can I publish without paying for AI?

Yes. AI generation is optional. Publishing to networks other than X does not consume the listed AI/X credits. You can write the text and supply your own media. X remains a metered exception, so include it even if you never generate a caption or image.

AdaptlyPost: Can I use different times and captions for each network?

Captions and hashtags can differ by platform. The founder’s current answer says one post has one publish time: create separate posts when you need different times. This matters when one campaign targets audiences in several timezones.

Buffer: Does Buffer have a lifetime deal?

No current lifetime offer is established in the official pricing reviewed. This page covers its Free and recurring plans as alternatives to lifetime products.

Buffer: Does Free mean only ten posts per month?

No. It is a 10-post queue per channel that refills as posts publish, across up to 3 connected channels.

Related categories